Search

Share

Common Salt - a national tour begins, Sue Palmer & Sheila Ghelani

  • South West, London
  • combined arts, Other, theatre
  • Sue Palmer Sue@biggerhouse.co.uk

Description

Common Salt is a performance around a table – a ‘show and tell’.

The work, made by artists Sheila Ghelani and Sue Palmer, has been designed for museums, libraries and arts venues. Common Salt first toured in 2018, and has now received grant funding from Arts Council England to support a national tour of 16 venues in 2019-20, which includes the British Library, Royal Museums Greenwich, Lancaster Maritime Museum, as well as Somerset Libraries.

Common Salt explores the colonial, geographical history of England and India taking an expansive and emotional time-travel, from the first Enclosure Act and the start of the East India Company in the 1600s, to 21st century narratives of trade, nature and culture.

Sue and Sheila activate insights into our shared past, laying out a ‘home museum’ of objects and stories; of the Great Hedge of India, of borders, and collections – all accompanied by original Shruti box laments.

Common Salt is a reckoning; the interconnectedness between history and global power, artefact and trade, race and memory is hidden in plain sight

Common Salt national tour in 2019:

Wells Library, Somerset | Saturday 19th October | 11.00am & 2.00pm | Buy tickets online

Cambridge Junction, Cambridge | Monday 21st October | 5:30pm & 8.00pm | Buy tickets

Frome Library, Somerset | Saturday 9th November | 11.30am & 2.30pm | Buy tickets online

Lancaster Arts / Lancaster Maritime Museum | Saturday 16 November | 3.00pm & 7.00pm

Yeovil Library, Somerset | Saturday 30th November | 11.30am & 2.30pm | Buy tickets online

Queen’s House, Royal Museums Greenwich | Friday 6th December| 11.30am & 2.30pm

Common Salt national tour in 2020:

Museum of Rural Life in Reading (Thursday 29th January), OSR Projects Somerset (Saturday 1st February), Manchester City Library (Friday 7th February), Leicester Attenborough Arts Centre (Friday 6th March), Museum of London Docklands (Wednesday 18th March),  Holburne Museum in Bath (Friday 27th March), Folkestone Fringe / Urban Room (April), Live Art Development Agency London (Thursday 23rd April) and The British Library in London (Monday 18th May).

Further information and to book tickets:

Sue Palmer - Common Salt

Sheila Ghelani - Common Salt