Arts News

Share

Inch by IN:CH - a travelling project, IN:CH

  • South West
  • combined arts, interdisciplinary arts, theatre, visual arts, Other, sculptural installations
  • Fiona Campbell fionacampbell-art@sky.com

Description

An artist-led project, Inch by IN:CH is bringing contemporary art out of the gallery and into the communal arena by showing work in alternative public spaces around the South West of England.  The artists will transport their work in travel cases (a diverse collection of suitcases) from one place to the next. The sites will be plotted as an outwardly mobile spiral - a metaphor for the migration of ideas, connections and hope.

'The idea is to foster connection and community through art, with a focus on transition, interchange and the transportation of ideas.'

Venues include pop ups at Fringe Arts Bath and Frome Festival; East Somerset Railway (heritage Brunel steam railway station); Backwell Theatre; Found Outdoors (woodland in Erlstoke, Wiltshire);  Bristol docks; Willow Cathedral, Taunton; and the Gauge Museum, Bishops Lydeard Station, West Somerset Railway.

The 11 artists will be engaging the public through in-conversations, workshops, performances, demonstrations, and residencies. The project starts at Fringe Arts Bath (28 May) and ends at Somerset Open Studios (3 Oct ‘21).

Artists involved

Suze Adams www.suzeadams.co.uk, Linda Ashe www.lindarashe.co.uk, Fiona Campbell www.fionacampbellart.co.uk, Philippa Edwards www.philippaedwards.co.uk, Angel Greenham www.angelgreenham.co.uk, Anna Kot www.annakot.co.uk, Ally McGinn www.allymcginn.com, Vicky McKay www.vickymckay.com, Kelly M O’Brien www.kellyobrien.art, Shirley Sharp www.shirleysharp.com, James Thornton www.jamesthorntonart.com

For further information visit: www.inchbyinch.uk

Address: Multiple venues

Times: Opening hours vary

Admission: Free

Contact Details: Tel: 07515537224 (Fiona)/07983312643 (Kelly) Email: inchbyinch2021@gmail.com

Unpaid opportunities

View our policy on unpaid opportunities and internships

Find out more
Photo, Crowds enjoying Garden of Light, by TILT. Lumiere London 2016, produced by Artichoke, supported by Mayor of London. Credit Matthew Andrews 2016.

Want to work with us?

Take a look at the latest job vacancies with the Arts Council

Find out more
Photo, Jennie Gill, Yorkshire Artspace, Sheffield. Photo Our Favourite Places / Nigel Barker for Yorkshire Artspace.